North Carolina Real Estate License

Definition - What does North Carolina Real Estate License mean?

The North Carolina Real Estate Commission manages the licensing of real estate brokers in the state of North Carolina.

Before applying for the real estate broker license, individuals must fulfill several requirements. All applicants should be 18 years of age or older. They should have the equivalent of a high school education and take 75 hours of real estate courses approved by the Real Estate Commission. A clean history is important. The state requires all criminal offenses be reported at the time of application. The Commission judges applicant character based on past incidents including defaulting on debts. Application costs $30. Once the application is accepted, individuals may take the examination.

Applied Measurement Professionals, Inc. administers the exams, which each consist of a national section and a state-specific section. The national section on covers 100 multiple-choice questions that must be completed within 2.5 hours. The state-specific exam is composed of 40 questions, and applicants are given 2 hours. National and state exams may be taken together or separately. However, when the exams are taken together, only 4 hours are given to complete both. A $64 fee is charged for the examination regardless of whether one or both exams are being taken.

Passing scores vary for each exam. The national exam requires 75 correct answers. Whereas, 30 correct answers are needed for a pass on the state portion of the examination.

Testopedia explains North Carolina Real Estate License

National Exam Content:

  • Agency Relationships and Contracts
  • Real Property Ownership/Interest
  • Finance
  • Real Property
  • Marketing Regulations
  • Property Management
  • Real Estate Calculations

State Exam content:

  • North Carolina Real Estate License Law and Commission Rules
  • Other North Carolina Laws and Practices
  • General Real Estate Topics
Licensees must complete 8 hours of continued education each year to maintain their license. All North Carolina Real Estate licenses expire on June 30 each year, despite the date of issuance. Renewal costs $40.

Connect with us

Testopedia on Linkedin
Testopedia on Linkedin
Tweat www.testopedia.com
"Testopedia" on Twitter


'@Testopedia'
Sign up for Testopedia's Free Newsletter!